Princeton Tops 2022 College Fed Challenge

Nov. 23, 2022

Congratulations to this year’s Princeton Fed Challenge team on winning first place in the 2022 College Fed Challenge competition! The Federal Reserve Board announced this year’s winner on November 18. Video and photos from this year’s challenge will be posted to the Federal Reserve’s website.

Eighty-four universities from across the country participated in the national competition, with eighteen teams selected as semi-finalists, six teams selected as finalists, and one team—Princeton—winning the top national prize.

This year’s team is the first Princeton team to take home the top prize in the annual competition where college teams analyze economic and financial conditions and formulate a monetary policy recommendation. Thirty Princeton students contributed to building the team’s final presentation, with five students presenting the recommendations to judges on behalf of the full team. The presenters (pictured here from left to right) were Shirley Ren (’24 and team co-captain), Noah Harrigan (’24), Lauren Fahlberg (’24), Richard Zhu (’23), and Shivani Prusty (’23 and team co-captain).

This year’s team was advised by three former central bankers, including Princeton Professor and former Federal Reserve Vice Chair Alan Blinder, former New York Fed President Bill Dudley, and former Senior Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada Carolyn Wilkins. Dudley and Wilkins are research scholars with Princeton’s Griswold Center for Economic Policy Studies. Wilkins also currently serves as an external member of the Financial Policy Committee at the Bank of England. Dudley is chair of the Bretton Woods Committee.

“We are so proud of this team,” said Professor Blinder when he heard the news. “Princeton teams have been trying to climb the mountain for years. We’ve come close but never made it to number one until now. The team members deserve all the credit for their hard work and smarts.”

2022 Princeton Team Roster

Charlotte Acra ’24
Joseph Becker ’23
Amanda Branom ’25
David Cabrera ’25
Sydney Eck ’24
Lauren Fahlberg ’24
Amichai Feit ’23
Noah Harrigan ’24
Antek Hasiura ’24
Ben Knell ’25
Catherine Kruse ’23
JC Martinez ’23
Anais Mobarak ’25
Georgia Nabors ’23
Justin Ong ’24
David Piegaro ’25
Shivani Prusty ’23
Laya Reddy ’25
Shirley Ren ’24
Daniel Rodriguez ’25
Maya Satchell ’24
Grace Tan ’23
Abhi Vellore ’25
Bracklinn Williams ’25
Melissa Woo ’24
Jia Yu ’23
Oliver Zhong ’25
Richard Zhu ’23